Mystery and Tangents

After ensconscing myself in Michael Chabon’s Mysteries of Pittsburgh then further into my reading of his essays Maps and Legends I think I have come to appreciate the subtle sidepaths of my life.  Similarly, I have been adding to my repetoire of Beverly knowledge.  For example, Saturday and Monday included hour long jaunts into the newest discovery of ‘”Secret Beverly.”

At this point, I have read four of Chabon’s seven or eight books, and I am only all the more keen to discover the other ones, looking for similarity.  During this summer I have discovered at least three separate parts of Beverly which I think are “Secret.”

The first “Secret Beverly” space includes an abandoned lot with sardonic graffiti down near The Bridge, the second the fickle-houred Cupcake Café, a third Green’s Hill, and a fourth the Old Beverly Commons.

These Secret spaces are so because they involve a level of intentionality, rather than unearthing, searching, or detecting.  They are all located readily on a map and the internet.   They are hidden in plain sight.  The secrets of life take a little bit of effort to get to and work through, and because of that they have less traffic and are able to be personalized.  Before all that, they involve taking a first step.  You must begin at the beginning and find out what can be known.  And when that is mastered then you can step into another trail, which will lead to another discovery.  Enrich, Expand, Engage. 

For further reading – Places to Visit in Massachusetts

Author: Beth M

I love new ideas & information, connecting people, and discovering New England adventures.

2 thoughts on “Mystery and Tangents”

  1. “These Secret spaces are so because they involve a level of intentionality, rather than unearthing, searching, or detecting.”

    beth, that’s wonderful. and i agree entirely with the sentiment.

Leave a Reply

