The Week of Recycling

I signed up to get the 30 days of GOOD email from GOOD magazine this month.  Each month they issue a challenge to improve your life in a measurable way in a certain domain.  Then they present 30 ways to reinterpret and concretely pursue this.  This month’s challenge is to document your life (via camera).   Friday’s Challenge was to Document something Old, and Saturday’s, Document something New.

Here’s my picture, combining both.

Something Old, Something New

This week I went to a clothing swap, receiving that hip sweater I’m wearing, the pants, headband and shoes I’m wearing.  The toys surrounding me were gifts from a friend who’s toddler is passing them on to my 5 month old.  Therefore, I’m surrounded by things which are new to us, but old to someone else.  (Also, that sweater is really old, and pretty cool.)

Author: Beth M

I love new ideas & information, connecting people, and discovering New England adventures.

2 thoughts on “The Week of Recycling”

  1. Good for you! I find that I’m not as good at this kind of recycling as I’d like to be; I just don’t have the dedication it takes to be really serious about shopping at Goodwill and I don’t seem to have the real-life social network for hand me downs (though I certainly did at Gordon). I’m looking forward to buying used furniture when we eventually buy a house and making it my own.

    1. It’s true that’s it’s hard, and you need to have a network of consignment/thrift stores around you as well. It impossible to find everything at just one consignment store. And like I said in an earlier post, it’s also frustrating if you are looking for one particular item for weeks because you need/ want it, and you know you can just go to Target and get it in fifteen minutes. Sometimes hand me downs aren’t aesthetically pleasing either. But sometimes they are and it feels good.

Leave a Reply

