The 12 Crafts of Christmas:Day 5 Making Bagels

My first attempt to make homemade bagels, and some of the mishaps that occurred.

The most time consuming gift I made, with moderate success, was bagels.  I wanted to make something which we eat a lot at my house, just to see what it was like.  I used this recipe in order to make my bagels.

But of course, I got overconfident even in my first attempts and tried to alter the recipe by adding frozen berries. This made the dough purple, and very sticky.  I didn’t know what to do.

It also meant after an hour, it had hardly risen at all.

So I heated the oven to 200 degrees, turned it off, then put the dough in there for another couple hours.

Blah!  At that point my husband was home from work and it was not a surprise that we were going to have very purple bagels.

I think the dough probably should have been stiff-er and felt less like jello, but it did.  I was surprised when boiling them and baking them did indeed turn out palatable bagels.

I’m proud that I did this, however, the chances of me doing it often are low.  Maybe in six months I’ll give it another try.

//Especially since – full disclosure – three days later the bagels were hard as a rock as well as shrivelly looking.  Totally weird.

Author: Beth M

I love new ideas & information, connecting people, and discovering New England adventures.

Leave a Reply

