The 12 Crafts of Christmas: Day 7 Christmas Cookies

One of the nicest things about staying home more hours has been the unanticipated desire to spend more of those hours cooking.  At the start of 2011 I probably could have listed from memory the number of times I cooked for longer than 30 minutes. Boiling pasta was a gourmet meal.  Sad, but true.  So the desire to make Christmas Cookies, and more than one type, took me by surprise.

I kept it simple by imposing a few rules on myself – no single ingredient costing more than 5 dollars (goodbye pecans), nothing with a fancy flavoring ( amaretto for example), nothing I hadn’t made before (seven layer bars).

So what did that leave me with: Christmas M&M bars, my favorite go to – Cinnamon Cookies, and Brownies (yes, I used a mix from Betty Crocker).  I also picked up two types of candy to add to the mix.  Overall, this was way less complicated than I thought it would be, and I was pleased with the result tucked into box from the supermarket.

If I do this again next year I might go for something exotic.  But we’ll see.

Author: Beth M

I love new ideas & information, connecting people, and discovering New England adventures.

Leave a Reply

