Making a Grand Entrance

Brightening your doorway with a DIY recycled sweater wreath

Descending into a basement apartment can be a bit of a downer, literally and figuratively.   Which is why I absolutely needed to beautiful the entrance.

Since joining Pinterest the amount of crafts I’ve wanted to do has increased even faster than ever.  In fact, looking at wreaths during Christmas time caused me some serious envy.

So, I knew I would have to make my own.  This is a very simple project, especially if you still have plenty of felted sweaters sitting around from when you made Christmas Ornaments.

The only other things you need are: a wreath form available at AC Moore( no doubt at other craft stores too), scissors, and a glue gun.

You cut the sweater into strips approximately 6 to 8 inches long, and about .5 to .75 of an inch wide.  Then, roll and glue.  You can make the circles larger or smaller depending on the length of each strip.  There are also other techniques you can follow to make the rolls more like roses.  When I had about 20 I glued them onto the wreath frame.   I also had some beads left over from another project so I glued those on too.  The ribbon is leftover from my wedding centerpieces.  The End!

There you have it, recycled art and home decoration.  Total time for this project – less than the length of the movie The Change Up, with Jason Bateman.

Author: Beth M

Life Lessons, Parenting, Books, Sustainability.

1 thought on “Making a Grand Entrance”

Leave a Reply

