Wintertime Wanderings at Modern Millie

I was so nervous on Friday when I was walking to the Modern Millie party at 3 Central Street in Salem.  I haven’t attended any parties where I don’t know anyone, and where I’ve gone by myself in years.  To be honest, maybe never.  But, I was invited to this one, and it was the perfect way to spend a Friday evening.

It helps when there are cute clothes to be bought, and a fun atmosphere, both of which Modern Millie has in abundance.  I had flutters in my stomach for a variety of reasons, being a solo attender was only one of them.  The other big one was that I knew the other women would be dressed to the nines.  Modern Millie is a simply fabulous vintage and consignment shop, and you’re bound to see a one-of-a-kind ring and plenty of retro-red lipstick there.

For myself however, I’m still in denial about baby weight on my hips.  I’ve been wearing yoga pants for about five months straight.  But, I knew I had to go, and not just for the chance of perhaps picking up some great finds to broaden my wardrobe.    No, because this is the next step in my attempts to be a part of my area, to go beyond simple purchasing, and to invest in businesses.  Sure, I attended the bonfire after Christmas, but I didn’t need to talk to anyone in broad daylight.  Here, I needed to smile and make conversation, or at least, that’s what I psyched myself up to do, to see what others are proud of accomplishing and bringing to the community.

And, I’m proud to report I talked to several other fabulous women there who were also shopping for steals and deals, and I walked out of the store with a green vintage dress, and an interesting top.  There was also another Salem blogger there (though I only realized it as I was walking out the door) who wrote a post about Modern Millie a few weeks ago which has more information.  Check her out.

Also, take a look at the blogspot for Modern Millie, it’s always full of design inspiration, and be sure to get down to the store as soon as you can.

Author: Beth M

Life Lessons, Parenting, Books, Sustainability.

Leave a Reply

