The Lenten Close on the Eve of Easter

Lent is a somber season occurring the forty days before Easter.  It is one of Christianity’s most secret seasons (that is, un-commercialized), and in a way, the most private, since it is a time of reflection and confession and sacrifice.  Lent has been a more recent addition to my own Christian life as not every denomination chooses to observe this season and my own childhood church was one of them.

Yet, though I heard of Lent nine years ago, I didn’t participate in a visual and visceral way until this year.  There are many practices during this season which one could incorporate, but I chose to forgo eating desserts and sweet things, and to create artwork depicting two scenes from the life of Jesus.

Not eating desserts was easy for the first five days, and then… it wasn’t.  Mostly because we ended up with a cake in our freezer then!  But by the end of the weeks I’ve found myself endowed with more self-control than I had, and a deeper ability to take my eyes off annoying things which are present in my life, but not necessarily positive or proper to focus on.  That is, there are times in life when it is necessary to endure “thorns” in the side, but they mustn’t be dwelt upon.

Although I appreciate art, enjoy galleries, and frequently cite the need to see art in the everyday, my own art-life halted around age 10.  That was the last time I took a class.  So, in order to heighten my own senses of both spirituality and aesthetics I created a collage, and a painting.

This is a scene of Jesus praying in the Garden of Gethsemene.

Jesus Transfigured on the Mount

This is the scene of Jesus transfigured on the Mount.

I have been refreshed and reminded during the past forty days of Jesus life and death but, I am excited for Sunday when we will all shout a joyful “He is Risen!”

Author: Beth M

I love new ideas & information, connecting people, and discovering New England adventures.

1 thought on “The Lenten Close on the Eve of Easter”

Leave a Reply

