A Disreputable Confession about Trying to Keep your Blog on Track

In that little side bar on the corner I state briefly the things this blog is about, “living sustainably,” “aging wisely,” and “reading responsibly” while living on the “North Shore.”  In my about page I’ve written clearly about how I think sustainable living is more than just being green, but also about finding balance in your own life, and knowing what works for you, ie: self knowledge.  So, in general I try to keep the blogging balanced between these four aspects.

However, you might be asking yourself, “Where’s the book post this month?”

It’s true, I’ve gone the whole month without blogging about any books, or any life lessons I’ve gotten from reading.  The reasons for this, out of concern for YOU gentle reader, not because I haven’t been reading anything.

Sometimes the things I read are interesting to me, but I know are of little interest to you. For example,  Augustine’s City of God, an epic tome I’ve been challenging myself with along with some others in a reading group.

Other times, they are useful to me, and probably interesting to you, but I’ve got nothing new to add to the conversation.   For example, tips on organizing your home.  In this case, I’ve been basking in some sage advice a la Julie Mortgenstern, because I really needed it.

Finally books relating to my graduate classes about organizational consulting.  Although there are a lot of really interesting things to say about creating job satisfaction, the technical aspects of employee turnover aren’t relevant to this particular blog.

Have I read anything lighthearted this month?  Heck yes!  I read the following hilarious and rollicking adolescent literature novel which caused me to think a little bit about a common phenomenon in my life.

The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau Banks.

This is a tale of introspection, machinations, boy-girl relations, and female empowerment bundled up in some magnificent wordplay with a fantastic tone. It’s about Frankie, a quirky, headstrong, and yet entirely self-controlled female protagonist (and therefore entirely different from Katniss Everdeen and Bella Swan) who decides that rather than enjoy life they way it is handed to her by the status quo she will envision how she can subtly change said status-quo through jokes and social criticism. (This is a lot like the French bohemians of the 1850’s, but that’s a story for another time and place.)

The scene that caused my self examination is a more incidental vignette.  After a particularly embarrassing incident happens to the boy Frankie is casually dating, he “stood, raised his arms in victory, and proclaimed himself the grodiest human being in all of Alabaster.”

Question: How often do I do that, claim the things that embarrass me?

Answer: Almost Never.

I might claim the things that are part of my character (forthrightness), writing style (didactic), and economic class (old car, basement apartment), but very rarely do I claim things which embarrass me.  These are really trivial things like taking the wrong stairway to class and ending up on the wrong floor or  having excellent name/face recognition. I try to quickly get through those incidents, or minimize the damage.  But a good time could be had by all if I learned to laugh at myself a little more.

What types of things are you embarrassed by, and how can you claim these incidents?

Author: Beth M

I love new ideas & information, connecting people, and discovering New England adventures.

Leave a Reply

