The Man on the Beach

I talked to a crazy man at the beach on Thursday at 9:15 in the morning.  Since everyone is a little crazy in their own way I’ll provide you with the operative definition I’m using for this particular man.

He disclosed too many personal details in the first three minutes of conversation.  He used horoscopes as a main anchor point for his worldview.  He made a joke about giving my son a cigarette as he lit one and started puffing away.

Normally, I try to extricate myself from these conversations rapidly since they make me uncomfortable.  They involve a lot of nodding and listening to inconsistent logic and highly suspect accounts of previous (morally questionable) doings.   However, Ethan and I were waiting for others to join us – I thought that would provide a natural cease-point to any conversation.  Unfortunately our friends were late.

So the conversation moved from dumpster diving, to Christianity, to Jesus and Muslims, to technology taking over the world, to the desire for a following, tingling in one’s spine, and trips on acid within the space of ten to fifteen minutes.

There is also, of course, something really fascinating about these types of crazy people because of their boldness too.

He told me that we were both on the quest for truth, but I was taking the long way through Jesus and he was taking the short way through trips on Ketamines where he could experience spiritual highs like the one he had last Wednesday.

Because there’s a little bit of truth in every statement I smiled at the realization that he was right.

It is true –  following Jesus is a long path.  I’m in it for the long haul, a lifetime and beyond of listening for His voice and doing His will.  And the process is the point, working out my salvation with fear and trembling, as Paul would say.

There are a lot of little phrases in life people have to remind them that the journey is what matters –  such as “Getting there is half the fun” and “Inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.”

So get to it.

And don’t do drugs.  Seriously.

Author: Beth M

I love new ideas & information, connecting people, and discovering New England adventures.

1 thought on “The Man on the Beach”

Leave a Reply

