A Post about Classification and the DeCordova Sculpture Garden

I am gradually realizing that not everyone thinks like I do.  I know this intellectually but it is easy to forget it in everyday living.

On the beautiful day before the fourth of July our family sojourned to Lincoln ( a few short miles from those old sites of important action – Lexington and Concord fittingly.)  We drove to see the DeCordova Museum and Sculpture Park. Although the museum is beautiful, we went quickly through it in order to spend our time outside following the path around the grounds, seeking the sculptures nestled against trees or proudly standing in manicured lawns.

After what felt like a brief hour and a half we were already leaving.  This is where I remarked,

If I was going to come with older children I would make a little scavenger hunt for them, to see if they could find which sculptures where made of bronze, or wood, or plastic.  Then I would send them off.

I am –  at my core – someone who classifies, who organizes.  I group according to type and material.  On a first draft of my hunt I have no doubt there would be no lines to inscribe what the sculptures resembled, of what they are reminiscent.  Only on reflection would I remember this is important too.

I am glad that I am made the way I am.  But I am also glad for all the mediating forces in this world that help me think in other ways too.

Author: Beth M

I love new ideas & information, connecting people, and discovering New England adventures.

1 thought on “A Post about Classification and the DeCordova Sculpture Garden”

Leave a Reply

