Unconventional Yarn

My wonderful sister loves to crochet afghans.  She has made me two (one is technically for Ethan), and her goal is to crochet 100 afghans in her lifetime.  She’s well on her way to meeting this goal at the age of 24.

For a long time though, I didn’t want to learn to crochet because I have no desire to ever make an afghan.  I mean, ever.   But this summer I’ve learned that writing off crocheting like that, is a little like deciding not to run because you don’t want to complete a marathon. Totally uninformed.  It turns out there’s a million ways to use that little hook and some yarn that doesn’t involve learning the afghan stitch.

Now that I’ve (almost) mastered the single crochet, double crochet, and the slip stitch, I know all the basics of crochet.  I’ve even made (one) granny square.

With my newly learned skill fresh under my belt I heard that the PEM was having a gathering to celebrate unconventional art – like mime, busking, graffiti and yes – yarnbombing!  I had to go!

While I was there I got a few more ideas for what I can do with my new skills – like make funky picture frames – or amigurumi vegetable toys.  No afghans for me!

Also, the free cooking demonstration by Scratch Kitchen was phenomenal.  I’m definitely heading there the next time I don’t feel like cooking.

Author: Beth M

Life Lessons, Parenting, Books, Sustainability.

3 thoughts on “Unconventional Yarn”

  1. Yarnbombing (and other unconventional art) always makes me so happy to see it – even if its been out in the elements and is looking sort of grungy. I like the idea of taking a common space and adding a big zing of color and whimsey. Also – love those knit frames!

Leave a Reply

