For the Beauty of the Earth – Thoughts on Order

“For the beauty of the earth, For the glory of the skies; For the love which from our birth, Over and around us lies; Lord of all, to Thee we raise This, our hymn of grateful praise.” – A Traditional Hymn 1864

The combination of Beauty month at Connect Shore and reading Montessori information has given me a new appreciation for order.

Order seems to be one of those words, like “duty” and “routine” where it’s sometimes hard to see much beyond the durability of what is promised to what might give beauty.  Order certainly doesn’t promise anything fancy after all.  At best you may receive faithfulness or comfort.

Yet, when things get disorderly I often find myself complaining.  I don’t like the chaos of dirty dishes; like many women I enjoy looking through Pinterest for better ways of organizing my home.  I am suckered by those beautiful bookshelves too.

This week I was thinking about all the places that order is praised or told of – How God’s first act in Genesis is to create order out of chaos and nothing. How parenting is best when it is consistent.  How the Olympics are preceded by years of structured training and diet for thousands of athletes.

I was also thinking of all the times when we are mad that order is not followed, rules are broken, and the uncertainty felt when human order is suddenly upended.  Society reels when we are asked to question the definition of marriage or adulthood.

I’m mad when people won’t cross in the crosswalk, a daily instance of disorderly conduct.

Order underlies a lot of what I take for granted and am tempted to look beyond.  Partly because I also crave vacation – unstructured time to sleep in, sit, see new things.  It is easy for me to dismiss the order that makes my sustained energy possible.

I don’t have a conclusion for these thoughts, just my own observations on one week in life.

Author: Beth M

I love new ideas & information, connecting people, and discovering New England adventures.

Leave a Reply

