A Sustainability Bucket List

I was intrigued by this post from TerraBlueTeams to create my own Sustainable Bucket List.  Since one of my New Years Resolutions is to Improve my Sustainable Living, it makes sense to explore what kinds of little pieces I imagine come under this giant umbrella of possibility.

As of right now, this is my grand vision of sustainability (and environmentally friendly) living.  But actually, it probably seems naive and small, even downright homely.  Maybe this is because I’m a renter, and a renter for the foreseeable future?  Maybe because the big stuff seems to involve more money than we’ve got?  Who knows.  I suppose everyone starts small, right?

  1. Have a space readily accessible for all my compost and food scraps.  No food scraps in the trash.  Lobby my city for a composting program.
  2. Reduce the amount of plastic and cardboard that comes into my house from grocery shopping.  For example: making my own popsicles, chips, veggie burgers, pancake mix, and storing leftovers in reusable containers.
  3. Purchase 90% my fruits and veges from USA (don’t know if I have the courage to give up bananas or avocados yet…), and at least 75% from local farms.
  4. Remain a one car family. Try to get a hybrid, but go with used until then.
  5. Promote Bike Advocacy and lobby for Bike Safe Roads.  Whenever possible walk or bike to locations less than 5 miles away.
  6. Solar Panels.
  7. At least 50% (but I think we can do better) of purchases we make as a family to be previously used, including clothes, furniture, toys and books.
  8. Native Plants and Rain Barrels.
  9. Bee Farming.
  10. Share larger purchases with others such as lawnmowers and camping equipment.
  11. Promote Recycling Awareness
  12. Create Recycled Art
  13. Slow Vacations (ie: use the train, enjoy camping, explore local places)
  14. Explore Sustainability Consulting as a possible choice of occupation
  15. Choose sustainable power sources (ie: wind) if given a choice.
  16. Volunteer to protect green spaces – and always clean up what others leave behind.
  17. Create and Host Trash Pick-Ups.
The WWII slogan I’ve been chanting all year.

I want to live Sustainably – but hold’s me back from that? Read about it here in my post: Our Top 5 Roadblocks to Sustainability?

Author: Beth M

Life Lessons, Parenting, Books, Sustainability.

4 thoughts on “A Sustainability Bucket List”

Leave a Reply

