Do you 10Q?

When I checked my email on Monday last week I was surprised to see what looked like spam – “Your 10Q answers from last year are here!”

My first thought?  10Q?  How did I get on this mailing list, and how can I get off it?  If I open this up, will there be a plea for me to buy an herbal supplement?

But, opening the email (there were no attachments, so I felt safe enough)  reminded me that I had filled this survey out last year –

10Q is the brainchild of three people and here’s the idea:

“10 Days. 10 Questions. Answer one question per day in your own secret online 10Q space. At the end of the ten days, hit a magic button and send your answers to the secure online 10Q vault for safekeeping. One year later, the vault will open and your answers will wing their way back to your email inbox for private reflection. If you want to keep them secret, perfect. You can also choose to share any of them, anonymously or with attribution, with the wider 10Q community.”

So, that email was from me –  the alluded to time capsule.

Reading over my answers was also a little like a time machine to how I felt this time last year – and my answers really reflected my experiences as a new mom with only three and a half months under my belt and frankly – not quite sure how I felt about the whole thing.  This was also the point right before I applied to the Industrial Organizational program at Salem State, there was a lot of uncertainty about whether it was a good choice or not.

Here’s an example of some of the questions –

Describe one thing you’d like to achieve by this time next year. Why is this important to you?

Describe a significant experience that has happened in the past year. How did it affect you? Are you grateful? Relieved? Resentful? Inspired?

If you head over to the site, you can see plenty of sample responses at www.doyou10q.com

As for me, it turns out the one thing I wanted to do in 2012 was to get my act together as a mother – and at the very least I leave the house with a snack now, so that’s a positive development.

On Sunday this week I started filling out my questions for next year – I encourage you to join along too – participating in Reflecting, Reacting and Renewing.

(Ps.  As you might have surmised – 10Q  (and it’s creators) are affiliated with the Jewish faith, and are marking the Jewish New Year (Rosh Hashanah).)

Author: Beth M

I love new ideas & information, connecting people, and discovering New England adventures.

2 thoughts on “Do you 10Q?”

Leave a Reply

