A quick word on Upcycling

Have you heard about Upcycling?

Upcycling is the process of converting used/old products into something new, and often better than the old.

I have a friend, Jenny,  who made her daughter this fantastic kitchen set (You’ll need to scroll down in the post a big.)  Jenny is super crafty and awesome – please check out her facebook page for her business here.  And in fact – she’s the one who introduced me to the blog “Better After” to start with. I love seeing how crafty people can be – because I definitely don’t have an eye for that.

I tried one (yes, one) upcycling project last year – and it mostly consisted of slapping a coat of paint on a rolling cart I found on the side of the road.  Full disclosure – my husband actually painted it.  I just tried to put a stencil on the top.  (Not my finest moment.)

Upcycled Cart

Purpose of cart - book storage and truck garage.
Purpose of cart – book storage and truck garage.

But, I’m always curating Upcycling projects on Pinterest (you can see them here).   Yet, making collages for my New Year’s Resolution out of recycled paper is about the extent of my upcycling.

If you craft – consider seeing how you can find a way to incorporate used materials in some way in each project.

For a great resource for North Shore crafters  – check out the Extras for Creative Learning in Lynn – and read this blog post from Connect Shore about it.

Author: Beth M

Life Lessons, Parenting, Books, Sustainability.

Leave a Reply

