There is no Accidental Excellence

“Excellence is never an accident. It is always the result of high intention, sincere effort, and intelligent execution; it represents the wise choice of many alternatives – choice, not chance, determines your destiny.”
– Aristotle

I’ve been thinking on this quote for a few days now – especially as it relates to what I thought I wanted to accomplish this year.

Oh, I wanted to accomplish so much!  But once again, I wanted to do it in breadth rather than depth – and every day the longer I live, as much as the media, this modern life, technology like the internet, and oh so many others scream at me to try out breadth – join this new social media tool!  Post more content!  Post everywhere all the time on all the platforms!!!

I can’t keep it up very long.  Inevitably I fall flat down on my face. We hold up “having it all” as though that were really some big good great kind of thing.  But I don’t think it is.

I also don’t think there are enough hours in the day to do everything you want, and especially not to do it all well. You must decide to want less, and do less.  And that’s hard – very hard.

Author: Beth M

I love new ideas & information, connecting people, and discovering New England adventures.

1 thought on “There is no Accidental Excellence”

Leave a Reply

