2014 Resolutions

In 2012 I resolved [among other things] to lose 15 pounds, be a better friend, and become a better blogger.

In 2013 I resolved [among other things] to pay off 1/3 of our student loans, teach Sunday School, and make more collages.

I had WAY more success with my resolutions in 2012 than 2013.  Which is the number one reason I’m sitting hesitantly poised over my keyboard, slightly ashamed at revealing that I’ve made more resolutions for 2014.

Although I confidently announced to friends last year that I usually attain what I resolve, well, one lesson I learned the hard way in 2013 is that you have to resolve to do realistic things.  I really truly wanted to pay off an extra part of those loans.  But I also really truly wanted to continue going to grad school.  Those two desires weren’t able to coexist, so I picked one over the other. And so the New Years Resolution didn’t occur.   End of story.  Was it failure? Was it just poor planning? Depends on how you call it, but at the end of the year, I feel good about the choices we made.

This year, I’ve got 2 BIG resolutions, and 3 small ones.

BIG:

1. Network Network Network!  The end goal of which is to find a job, or at the very least find some clarification on defining the ideal job for me, and my skills and getting it put into place.

2. Foster better communication among my family members.  There’s some seriously silly stuff going on because we’re not being good communicators.

small:

1. Plan and start a 30 before 30 list.  On my birthday in April, I’ll be 29, and I’m so excited about doing this traditional blogger checklist of completing a list of 30 items before you hit 30 years old.  I’ve been thinking about it for the last two months, but I want to look over some of my old journals and figure out what my younger self would have wanted to do too.

2. Reduce my ecological footprint by practicing more pre-cyling at the grocery store.  That means (so far) – making more snacks at home, buying in bulk, and remembering the produce bags during the non-CSA part of the year!

3. Run the 2014 North Shore Trail Series (except for that marathon – no interest in that whatsoever).

This year, as in 2012, I hope to check up a little bit on my progress throughout the year.  You manage what you measure, as all these business books I keep reading tell me.

Author: Beth M

I love new ideas & information, connecting people, and discovering New England adventures.

2 thoughts on “2014 Resolutions”

  1. 1) How am I older than you? That’s so strange to me,
    2) I totally feel you on the conflicting goals…I feel like that was a big struggle for me last year, trying to be intentional about doing all the things, which is just not possible.
    3) I LOVE your posts about reducing your footprint. Please keep them coming.

    Also, I think we should resolve to meet up this year. My sister is living on the North Shore and so we’re out there from time to time. A face to face conversation (for possibly the first time ever) would be great.

Leave a Reply

