Summer Reading!

Summer Reading

It’s always fun for me to put together a summer reading list of things I think I should read.  I usually choose nonfiction books that will bring me new insight into myself or my topics of interest (sustainability, psychology, christianity) and some fiction books I’ve heard a lot about in reviews or through friends.

Typically what actually happens though, is that I just read what I feel like reading, and don’t usually finish my list. Here was my reading list from the winter – I read 5 out of 11.  Here is my reading list from summer 2012 – I read 7 out of 15.   I better aim high because past experience seems to indicate I’ll read about 50% of this list.

Fiction

  • A Fine Balance – Mistry Rohinton
  • NW – Zadie Smith
  • Babbit – Sinclair Lewis
  • Wind up Bird Chronicles – H. Murakami (I’m loving Murakami, one of my new favorite authors I believe).
  • Eleanor & Park – R. Rainbow
  • The Magicians Land – L. Grossman.  (Third book in the Magicians series… and I’m really excited for it.)

Non-Fiction

  • Thinking Fast and Slow – D. Kahneman (already reading this one, and I highly recommend it).
  • Change Agent – Os Hillman
  • Performance Management – Aubrey Daniels
  • The Wisdom of Crowds – Surowiecki (You’d be surprised how often you hear about “crowdsourcing.”  This book is about some of the psychology of that.)
  • Big Data at Work – Davenport
  • Reasons and Rationalizations – C. Agyris (or any book by him)
  • Micromotives and Macrobehavior – Thomas C. Schelling
  • Cradle to Cradle – W. McDonough
  • Deep & Wide – Andy Stanley
  • Disunity in Christ – C. Cleveland (*Christena writes a fabulous blog about social psychology and christianity. you should check it out.)
  • Metamorpha – K. Strobel
  • The Locust Effect – G. Haugen.

I update my reading progress on Goodreads often – If you use that site, I’d love to be friends with you and see what you read.

goodreads logo

 

PS:  In other REALLY exciting news – I’m 92% done with my MS degree at Salem State, and therefore might have some more time for blogging in the future!  OR…  I might just read ALL the books and work on my 30 before 30 list.  We’ll see.

Author: Beth M

Life Lessons, Parenting, Books, Sustainability.

3 thoughts on “Summer Reading!”

  1. A Fine Balance is sooooo good! I think you will like it. Eleanor & Park is also great. And The Magician’s Land is in the NOBLE catalog so if you want to get a jump on it and put it on hold, you can!

Leave a Reply

