My Favorite Movies

Nothing to do in snowstorms but make lists of favorite movies. Oh yeah, and shovel.

Yellow Movie Posters

Remember college?  It seemed soooo important to have a list of favorite movies, bands, and books on the tip of your tongue.  As though, you might come across a potential best friend, and only your mutual appreciation for Bright Eyes would cement the relationship.  If you asked me what my favorites were, I knew them faster than my social security number. It was delicious to fill out profiles online, prove my erudition, or reveal guilty pleasures.  Since those days though, I don’t put as much stock in favorites, and it seems like filling out profiles is passe.

In the space when I was going to grad school and parenting a toddler, it seemed like there wasn’t enough time for 2 hour movies, only 30 minute TV shows.

But, in the midst of another epic blizzard for Boston, there has been some time to think about my favorite movies.

So long old favorites.

  • Empire Records
  • The Emperor’s New Groove
  • Fight Club
  • 10 Things I Hate about You
  • I heart Huckabees
  • Garden State

These are my new favorites.

  • Lars and the Real Girl
  • Moonrise Kingdom
  • Short Term 12
  • Starbuck
  • She’s out of my League
  • Looper

And this is my favorite commentary on movie posters. I‘m a sucker for big independent films.

Author: Beth M

I love new ideas & information, connecting people, and discovering New England adventures.

2 thoughts on “My Favorite Movies”

    1. Agreed! I love the whimsy of both movies, but the way the community rallies around Lars, without the need for irony or sarcasm, really touches me every time I see that movie.

Leave a Reply

